Review: New Glarus Enigma

image

This post is pulling double duty tonight (makes sense since I’ve been so lax in updating recently). First, I get to review something from my recent trip to New Glarus Brewery and second, conquer my fear of sour beers. The beer challenged with the task?

New Glarus Enigma from their Unplugged series.

A few weeks back a question was possed on Twitter, “What beers do you fear?” My answer was simple, sour beers. Sours have always been a fear for me. The whole concept just eluded me. After some good natured ribbing regarding my fear of sours, I made the decision to conquer my fear and try a sour beer.

My opportunity came a few days later when I went up to New Glarus Brewery with my parents for the weekend. At the end of the New Glarus Brewery’s “Hard Hat Tour” (highly recommended) was a tasting of their beers, including Enigma. It was time to face my fear and go for it. In the end it was not at all what I expected and I enjoyed it, which brings us to today. On to the review!

New Glarus Enigma

Apperance: Nice clear copper red color, quick falling tan head.

Aroma: First sniff is full of bourbon, vanilla, and oak. Eventually, an interesting interplay of sweet and sour. I definitely pick up from the aroma the sourness of the beer, but I also pick up notes of rich fruity sweetness.

Flavor: Acidity and sour are the main flavors that I pick up mainly in the form of tart lemon. Suprisingly, there is also a malty softness and sweetness that balances the acidity quite well. As for those aromas of bourbon, vanilla, and oak? They definitely are present in the flavor as well. Carbonation is light, yet prickly if that makes sense.

Overall: As a relatively new comer to sour beers, I must say this is a really nice beer. Once I was able to overcome my fear of sour beers and really dig into the beer I found a really flavorful, refreshing beer. 9/10

2 Responses to “Review: New Glarus Enigma”

  1. I agree with you completely. The Concept of sour has been intimidating me recently, but I’ve now made two trips from Chicago to WI for beer with this one in mind. To branch out, I tried the Round Barn winery “sour pardon” last weekend and it was pretty good as well. Glad you liked the Enigma.

  2. I’m still afraid of sour beers. Had a cherry lambic once and cried all the way home.

Leave a Reply

