Review: Hobgoblin Dark English Ale

image

Time for another review and this one coming from across the pond. Hobgoblin is an English Dark Ale, though in truth I’ve never really heard of the style before so I did not really know what to expect. Fortunately for me, my copy of “The Real Ale Almanac” by Roger Protz had come a few days earlier. According to the almanac Hobgoblin is brewed with just Maris Otter and Black malt with traditional English hop varieties for bitterness and aroma.

From the pour a nice light tan head forms. Though the picture doesn’t show it well, this beer is not black in color, but rather a dark amber with red hues in it. Neither is it particularly clear, but I have never been a stickler for clarity.

The first sniff I get of the aroma really took me back to my time in England. I can’t describe the aroma in words to convey the what I felt, only that the aroma was similar to many of the bitters I had over there. Grainy, a little earthy, with a touch of fruity is the best I can come up with.

I drank this beer fairly slow and in doing that was able to pick up different notes at different times. The initial flavors were focused around a soft caramel like sweetness balanced with a nice earthy bitterness. There was also a touch of roast from the black malt that was barely noticable. One flavor that I picked up halfway through drinking was a sweet dark fruity flavor. The flavors definitely intensified as the beer warmed up and flattened out a bit.

Overall, a pleasant beer. Reminds me a lot of the Bitters I’ve had, which is not bad thing, but as a dark ale I kinda expected it to be a little different. Would I drink it again? Without a doubt. 7/10

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

