Two Brothers Hop Juice

image

I would not classify myself as a hop head, but I do enjoy a good IPA every so often. Two Brothers, out of Warrenville, IL, brews some of my favorite hoppy beers in Cane and Ebel and Heavy Handed, so when I found Hop juice I knew I had to pick up a bottle.

Hop Juice was one of the 2009 Artisan releases and coming in at 9.9% ABV with 100.1 IBUs, this IIPA certianly lives up to its name. It pours a golden amber color with a fairly thick off white head. The aroma is a nice balance of citrus and pine hops, though the aroma was much softer than I expected.

After taking the first sip, what hits me is the balance of the beer. The hops and the sweetness of the malt are perfectly in sync giving this beer a pleasant flavor. The malt provides a caramel sweetness to the beer that proves an excellent counter point to the hop bitterness and let’s face it, the bitterness and flavor from the hops are what we are here for. Hop Juice does not disappoint in that regard. The citrus and pine aroma from earlier show up in full force on the palate providing a firm bitterness and tons of flavor.

Overall, 9/10.

Leave a Reply

