Sun King Brewing Sunlight Cream Ale

So today I had my 1st of two finals and I am rewarding myself a Sun King Brewing Sunlight Cream Ale. I went down to Sun King a couple weeks back and picked up a 4 pack of these along with a growler of their ESB. This beer took silver in the Cream Ale category of the World Beer Cup a couple weeks back. Pretty good for a brewery that has only been in existence for little over a year. Anyway on to the beer:

Appearance:Pours a straw to golden yellow with a billowy white head. Brilliantly clear.

Aroma: I really think my allergies are screwing with my sense of smell as I can barely smell anything. What I do pick up is grainy and a little sweet with no noticeable hop aroma.

Flavor:  Faintly sweet with just enough bitterness to balance, no real hop flavor. Finishes dry with moderate carbonation making this a really refreshing beer.

Overall: I will be the first to admit that I am not a huge fan of the style, though I will also admit that I enjoyed the beer. It is refreshing and great for summertime.  8/10

Leave a Reply

