Smuttynose Baltic Porter

So tonight was a bad night for me and to help myself cope I decided order pizza and drink beer. I decided to go with the second of the “Big Beers” that I picked up a couple of days ago. Tonight’s selection was Smuttynose Baltic Porter, which is the smallest of the three coming in at 8.7% ABV for the 2009 version. My first impressions, man this beer is black.  I have seen plenty of dark beers, but this one is one of the 2 darkest I have every seen. The beer is opaque, black, and has a wonderful brown head.

The funny thing is I am not getting much aroma from the beer. I might attribute this to my allergies which are terrible every spring. The first sip I get hit with 2 major flavors; coffee and alcohol. I wouldn’t say this finishes dry, but it does has a very thin mouth feel that really makes the beer very easy to drink. The aftertaste is all coffee.

Overall, this beer is a great one on to spend a couple of hours one evening drinking. I love dark, robust beers and this one does not disappoint, though it probably could use an extra year or so maturing. 7/10

Leave a Reply

