Beer Review: Left Hand Deep Cover Brown Ale

Sorry for the lack of updates over the weekend. I spent the time back home for Easter with my family and did not have much time to spend on the blog. I did get to have some good homebrewed porter from my dad as well as Half Acre Over Ale and New Belgium Mighty Arrow. Also got to brew an all Cascade APA with my dad on Saturday. Overall, a beer weekend.

So this will be my official first beer review. I am not and in no way a professional at this and I do not have any BJCP certification. I will just give my feelings as I progress though the pint. Tonight it is Left Hand Brewing’s Undercover Brown Ale.

From the Website:

  • Style: English Brown Ale
  • Color: Light Brown
  • Body: Light
  • ABV: 4.4%
  • IBU: 16
  • Malts: 2-Row, Crystal, Munich, Brown, Chocolate, Wheat
  • Hops: US Goldings

So now on to the beer:

Aroma: Very malt focused, almost no hop aroma. I can’t place an aroma here, but it is turning me off.

Visual: Pours light brown with a short lasting tan head.

Flavor: Very bready with a hint of toast. Very smooth with no noticeable hop flavor flavor or aroma. Finishes with moderately dry with a residual sweetness reminiscent of well toasted bread. There are a lot of flavors competing here.

Overall: Good brown ale, though I am definitely wishing there was something more to this. Looking at the list of malts I feel like they are almost trying to do too much and the flavors are not melding well. That is not to say this is a bad beer and will definitely enjoy the rest of the six pack I have. Just at the end of the pint I am left wanting something more out of this beer. Score 6/10.

Leave a Reply

