Why Beer?

I have been at a little bit of a loss of what to write of late. Blogging is fairly new to me and sometimes the creative pressure is just too much (or at least that is what I am calling it). Today I thought I would just give a little insight into myself and my love of beer with just the simple question of why beer?

There is something special about beer, something different. There are millions of different drinks out there in the world and each one is complex in their own right. Water, while essential, is pretty boring and soda is just too mass produced. Juices are not unique, I mean you can pretty much just look at a name and you know what is going to taste like. Apple juice? Bet it tastes like apples. Same with grape juice, cranberry juice, and grapefruit juice. Wine is snobbish and I always get hung up on the issue of terrior. Distilled liquors are too alcoholic. Beer,  however, is flavorful and creative.

I love all things beer. I love the history of beer. More than the history of beer, I love the brewing of beer and everything that goes into it. I love the ingredients; the malt, hops, water, and yeast. I love how the brewer carefully selects the malt varieties, balances the sweetness with hop bitterness, and adds character with the yeast. I love the process; the malting and mashing, the boil, fermentation, and serving. How each step in the process changes the final outcome of the beer fascinate me.

I love the people who drink beer and the socio-cultural aspect that beer brings to a society. The pubs of England and Ireland to the beirgartens of Germany to the monasteries of Belgium. Each society embraced beer both differently and the same. Beer brings people together. I think that is what I like the most. Unlike other drinks beer brings people together to talk and celebrate. Beer is truly are drink of the people.

As an aside: I just poured myself a glass of my homebrewed Burton Ale. It pours a beautiful amber with a lasting off-white head. The aroma is the mix of fruity esters intermingled with the aroma of grassy British hops. I take a sip. It starts biscuity then turns to a roasty chocolate finishing with a smooth hoppy bitterness. In a word, amazing.

So where does this rambling post lead? I don’t know. I guess that I love beer. I love wrapping myself up in the tangled web of history, flavor, and culture. Every bottle I open speaks to me, it tells me of where it has been and with every sip that history becomes a part of me. It is then up to me to share that with others as a brewer, drinker, and lover of beer.

Leave a Reply

