St. Paddy’s Day

I have a confession to make. I have always been a curmudgeon when it comes to St. Paddy’s Day. I hated the excessive drinking, the ignorance of Irish culture, and the broad stereotyping and generalizations of the Irish. I am a very proud person especially when it comes to my Irish heritage and I felt that St. Paddy’s Day was insulting as it is to many people just an excuses to get drunk. Thus for many years I have been very negative towards this holiday.

Today that all changed. I decided to stop being such a curmudgeon and embrace St. Paddy’s Day. So today I will be pouring myself a glass of Guinness Extra Stout before going out with my friends to celebrate the Irish. So pour yourself a pint and raising it to your health, life is too short to not enjoy yourself.

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

